The Sphinx 

28 Oct

Pharaohs, conquerors come and go but the Sphinx remains….

The Sphinx 


I lie upon the arid sand,

A relic from an ancient land.

One face,

Many names

Khafre,

Horus on the horizon,

Father of terror.

My secrets are my own,

Such secrets unknown,

Hidden.

I’ve seen it all,

Mighty men,

Would be gods,

Kings,

Conquerors,

Keeping power by majesty, sword and gun.

Iron men easily corrode.

I lie upon the sands,

I gaze and smile,

Adored by those 

From beyond the banks of the Nile.

Leave a Reply

